PSA on R

The Solution

If you trying to install a package in R and get hit with “Error: package ‘foo’ was built before 3.0.0: please re-install it“, or in installation fails because of uninstalled dependencies, then run the following in R or RScript:

    update.packages(checkBuilt = TRUE, ask = FALSE)

If this fails because of permissions problems with updating the R library directory, then try again as root.

Thanks to anonymous user3003714 on StackOverflow for that blessed cure.

How I Got There

I am taking a data science course from Coursera.  Our homework assignments this week are in R, and learning R has been left as an exercise for the student.

The biggest problem I have had has been getting R to work at all.  Package caret was recommended for our assignment, and it would not install because of dependency issues, or because a 2.x rather than 3.x version was installed.  When I tried to install the prerequisite packages, I found that they, too, had dependencies.

(N.b., installing the various packages also required fiddling with /etc/apt/source.list, coping with expired package keys, and increasing the memory configured for the VM on which I was working.)

Google did not immediately turn up a general solution, so I kept inching my way up the dependency tree, one package at a time.  For awhile it seemed that I was finding three new dependencies for every one that I resolved. I have not experienced this sort of dependency Hell since the days before wrapping C header files with #ifndef HEADER_NAME .. #endif became standard practice. It was certainly a match for any DLL Hell problem I’ve faced.

After hours of work, the caret library would load. All the while, I kept wondering how could so many people use R when it’s this hard to set up?

So finally I could actually start on the homework.  Well into it,  a problem description recommended the use of package rpart, and I hit a similar 2.x problem that I’d run into with caret, but worse than before because a simple re-install did not fix it.

It was back to Google, but this time (thank God!), the  search struck gold, in the form of the first section of this post.

Whew!

Leave a Reply

